Yummy Scrummy Homemade Sausage

I’ve been thinking about making my girls sausage and mash for a while but havent really been very keen on giving them ready made sausages because I find it too fatty and I never really know what’s in them. So I decided that I would make them homemade ones. I couldnt believe how easy it was.

My girls are 13 months old, but this is a great finger food from 12 months.

What you’ll need:

500g Mince pork

1 egg

1 cube of garlic and onion puree/ 1 clove and 1/2 a small onion

1 tsp of paprika

1tsp of tumeric

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil or unsalted butter

your choice of herbs

strong cling film cut into 3 inch strips

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl with your hands. If you are using fresh onions and garlic you will find it useful to grate it or mash it because this way it will get mixed up well and you wont get left with chunks like when you chop it, but if thats what you are going for than you can chop finely. 

Make mini ball shapes you can use a table spoon as a size guide. I made these the size of meatballs. Put them to one side and cut the strips of cling film.

Place each meatball in the middle of a strip of cling film and roll it into a sausage shape while wrapping it with the cling film (shorter sides). You should be left with the the longer sides of the cling film at the both ends of the sausage.

Hold on to each end of the cling film and twist it until the sausage feels quite secure in the cling film. As you can see I tied the ends together. I found that it was the best way to hold it all together, but if you find an easier and less time consuming way please let me know.

Place it all together in a cooking pan and fill it with boiling water. Cook it for 15 min.

Let it cool and remove the cling film. You might find that some sausages will automatically come out of their cling film casing, which is helpful in some ways!!!

Place in freezer bags and store it in the freezer. They dont look very appetizing, I know, but you can brown them abit before serving. 

When you want to serve them you can cook straight from frozen by frying them in a bit of olive oil. Serve it with mash and veg. You can also add abit of baked beans to the mash if you wanted to for extra moisture.

I know they look abit odd, but trust me, they are yummy!!!

Thats it!!! Home made sausages for your little one(s)!!!

I hope they enjoy it!!!!

Leave a comment