Gifts of nature

20120910-011529.jpg

I just love this time of the year: the weather is still holding up and there’s so much free fruit out there just waiting to be picked!
My husband’s parents have a beautiful house in the country where we have just spend a long weekend. Not only are we always spoiled with great food when we go there, but always get goodies to bring back with us. And this time it was no exception!

The trees were full of fruit just asking to be picked. So I went on a picking spree and bought a whole load home.

I went there with the intention to pick my weight in blackberries because I knew the bushes would be full of them, but after filling half a bucket and having my arms pricked and scratched on the nettles I decided I had enough!
I had no intention of picking anything else, until my mother in-law asked if I wanted to take some damsons home.
People that know me will tell you that I’m a sucker for a bargain, specially if it’s free! So without any more insistence from my mother in-law I decided to except her generous offer of some free damsons as well.
As I was reaching the higher branches trying to grab as much damsons as a could I suddenly noticed the apple tree at the bottom of the garden, full of apples.
“Do you mind if I take some apples as well?” I had to ask!
“Ofcourse, please do, they will only go to waste if you don’t pick the! ” she said!
Yay a voice screamed inside, and up I went on the tree! Now, these aren’t the prettiest apples in the world but they are so tasty it doesn’t matter, right!

A few minutes later I was finished with the apples and I started sorting through my treasures, when along came my father in-law and said “wow well done, you did well! Don’t forget the plums!”, I jumped up and replied “plums? What plums?”, he said ” you haven’t seen the plums? You must take some plums, they are delicious!”
I went into the kitchen and asked for another bucket and told my mother in-law, “just when I thought I was finished, I found the plums!”, which she replied “do you have a big freezer?” and ofcourse I don’t!

So for the rest of this month I will be trying out different recipes with all these treasures!!!

Watch this space every one!

20120910-015405.jpg

Leave a comment